Board of Directors

President - Douglas Ratke

Douglas Ratke, was born and raised in Calgary. Doug moved to Riverbend in the mid 1990’s, and upon doing so, joined the Holy Angels School Council and School Council Society as the founding Treasurer. Shortly afterwards he joined the RCA's Board of Directors. His first efforts were to work with the City of Calgary to remove the chain link fence from the middle of 18th Street. After that, Doug became the Secretary, then Treasurer, and finally President. Doug has spent nearly 20 years in service to making Riverbend one of the best communities to live in within Calgary. In 2010, Doug kicked off the first effort to revitalize playgrounds in Riverbend by working with the Parks Foundation, and raising additional funds through donations. Doug is a multiple recipient of the Federation of Calgary Communities Hero Award for his efforts and work aimed at bettering the community of Riverbend.


Treasurer - Walter Janzen

Walter and his wife moved to Riverbend in February of 1994 with their first two children. They now have four grown children. Walter first began volunteering with the Stampede Breakfasts in the late 90’s, helping with the music and then flipping pancakes. He joined the rink volunteers in 2010 and for the last few years has been the lead rink volunteer. He became a board member of the Riverbend Community Association in September 2014 and took on the role of Treasurer in June of 2016. He and his wife enjoy walking through Riverbend’s many green spaces and Carburn Park.


Secretary - Sarah T

Vice President - Operations - VACANT

Vice President - Administration - VACANT

Director-at-Large, Denise Dodds Contact:

Director at Large, Christina Matisons:

Director-at-Large, Ryan Munday Contact:

Director -Community Safety & Crime Prevention -Allison Adair:

Other Key Contacts:

Olga Maciejewski: