Board of Directors

President - Christina Matisons

Christina moved to Riverbend as a teenager in the 1990's, working at our local McDonalds and running volunteer children programs and a Teen Club at the Riverbend Community Centre. After living overseas for over 10 years, together with her family she moved back to Canada and bought a house just doors down from her parents who still live in Riverbend. Christina is an MBA-qualified HR Professional and has had previous Board experience with Impact Volunteering. She joined the RCA Board in 2018 and is excited to continue her involvement in the community that she grew up in.

Contact: christina@riverbendcommunity.ca

Treasurer - Walter Janzen

Walter and his wife moved to Riverbend in February of 1994 with their first two children. They now have four grown children. Walter first began volunteering with the Stampede Breakfasts in the late 90’s, helping with the music and then flipping pancakes. He joined the rink volunteers in 2010 and for the last few years has been the lead rink volunteer. He became a board member of the Riverbend Community Association in September 2014 and took on the role of Treasurer in June of 2016. He and his wife enjoy walking through Riverbend’s many green spaces and Carburn Park.

Contact: walter@riverbendcommunity.ca

Secretary - Heather Kolesar

Heather, her husband and their dog moved to Riverbend in 2011 and added a son to complete the family a year later. Heather’s volunteering focus after her son was born was with a Calgary area parenting support group, helping out where needed and eventually joining their board of directors. Now that her son is well into his school career, Heather made the decision to focus her volunteer efforts within her community and joining the board of directors seemed to be a perfect fit. Heather has a Library Information Technology Diploma and experience working in libraries and technical records. She is happy to be raising her son in Riverbend and eager to give back to this hidden gem of a community.

Contact: heather@riverbendcommunity.ca

VP Administration -Tammie Best

Contact: tammie@riverbendcommunity.ca

VP Communictions -Olga Maciejewski

Olga moved to Riverbend in 2004. Olga is an MBA-qualified Project and Change Management Professional with previous board experience with ALS Society of Alberta. Olga has been involved with RCA in various roles since 2017 and is excited to have the opportunity to make the community she is raising her three kids a better place for everyone. Olga is passionate about keeping everyone informed about key issues important to our community and feels fulfilled with the opportunity to use her creativity.

Contact: olga@riverbendcommunity.ca

Director -Community Playgrounds -Elise Rowland

Elise moved to Riverbend to live with her husband in 2013. Together, they have grown their family to include children, and now live in a different home, but always in the same community they love. She brings to the team of directors a passion for building and renewing, and her love of all things fun!

Contact: elise@riverbendcommunity.ca

Director-at-Large-Ken Schultz

Ken moved to Riverbend in 1982 with his wife Elaine. They raised 3 children while Ken worked in the oil & gas industry as a cost estimator, commuting downtown by bicycle. Last October Ken transitioned into a second career as a licensed residential contractor, which gave him the flexibility to pursue some additional interests. Ken is hoping to use his construction administration and hands-on skills in his board responsibilities.

Contact: ken@riverbendcommunity.ca

Director -Community Safety & Crime Prevention -Allison Adair: allison@riverbendcommunity.ca

Director -Grants- Denise Dodds: denise@riverbendcommunity.ca

Director-at-Large, Ryan Munday: ryan@riverbendcommunity.ca

Other Key Contacts:

Olga Maciejewski: olga@riverbendcommunity.ca